fbpx

McIntyre’s Books Author Events

JG Hetherton and Scott Blackburn

JG Hetherton, What Lies Beneath, Scott Blackburn, It Dies with You, and Eryk Pruitt in discussion

Event Date:

July 16, 2022

Event Time:

11:00 am

Look no further for your summer reading. We have a terrific panel with mystery authors J.G. Hetherton and Scott Blackburn moderated by writer Eryk Pruitt.
What Lies Beneath is a pulse-pounding series debut is the next obsession for fans of Julia Keller and David Bell, and readers of unflinching thrillers.

Laura Chambers finds herself caught in a deadly web of small town secrets as she hunts for the truth about her father, who mysteriously disappeared.

Hillsborough, North Carolina is a town with a dark history, one that was hidden until investigative journalist Laura Chambers pulled it into the light.

Nearly a year has passed since her deadly encounter with a serial killer’s twisted progeny, a brutal confrontation that left her physically and emotionally scarred. She’s ready to put the past behind her, but the past has other plans.

A woman runs onto the interstate, directly into the path of a truck, and the gruesome accident leaves behind a mangled corpse. Her very last phone call was to Laura, but the victim was barefoot, in a state of undress, and her face is disfigured beyond recognition. Identification seems impossible, and the only thing in her possession is an old photograph depicting Laura, her father—and standing next to them, her imaginary friend from childhood. What else is mistaken about her memories?

Laura’s father passed away when she was eight, and she thought she understood why he vanished from her life in the year before he died, but the photograph casts doubt on everything she thought she knew.

As the lines between fact and fiction blur, Laura digs into the history of the deceased, and her own family, determined to discover what lies beneath . . .

J. G. Hetherton was raised in rural Wisconsin, graduated from Northwestern University, and lived in Chicago for the better part of a decade. Along the way to his first novel, he dabbled in many different day jobs before moving to North Carolina for a girl.

To purchase a copy of What Lies Beneath, click here.

Scott Blackburn’s searing literary debut, It Dies With You, explores the dangerous world of secrets threatening to upend a rural Southern town, perfect for fans of David Joy and Brian Panowich.

For nearly a decade, twenty-nine-year-old Hudson Miller has made his living in the boxing ring, but a post-fight brawl threatens to derail his career. Desperate for money, Hudson takes a gig as a bouncer at a dive bar. That’s when life delivers him another hook to the jaw: his estranged father, Leland, has been murdered in what appears to be a robbery-gone-bad at his salvage yard, Miller’s Pull-a-Part.

Soon after his father’s funeral, Hudson learns he’s inherited the salvage yard, and he returns to his Bible-belt hometown of Flint Creek, North Carolina, to run the business. But the business is far more than junk cars and scrap metal. It was the site of an illegal gun-running ring. And the secrets don’t end there; a grisly discovery is made at the yard that thrusts Hudson into the fight of his life.

Reeling for answers, Hudson joins forces with his father’s former employee, 71-year-old, beer-guzzling Vietnam vet Charlie Shoaf, and a feisty teenage girl, Lucy Reyes, who’s fiercely seeking justice for her own family tragedy. With a murderer on the loose and no answers from the local cops, the trio of outcasts launch an investigation. The shocking truth they uncover will shake Flint Creek to its very core.

“Lou Berney and Michael Kardos fans will look forward to more from this gifted author.”
—Publishers Weekly

Scott Blackburn is an English instructor and a 2017 graduate of the Mountainview MFA program. He lives in High Point, North Carolina with his wife and two children. When he is not writing and teaching, Scott enjoys training in combat sports such as boxing, Muay Thai, and Ju-jitsu, in which he holds a black belt.

Eryk Pruitt is a screenwriter, author and filmmaker living in Durham, NC.

To purchase a copy of It Dies With You, click here.

Event Schedule Details

  • July 16, 2022
    11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Share:
ADD TO CALENDAR

Learn More About Fearrington

Sign up for our newsletter


0
    0
    YOUR CART
    YOUR CART IS EMPTYRETURN TO SHOP
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon
      Unavailable Coupons
      holiday Get Free off